Freshly Pressed

Jees…

I’ve lately been reading a few of the “Freshly Pressed” blogs… basically, to see if there was anything interesting, drop a comment, and hopefully get a few hits (perhaps not the best motives).

Well, almost all of the articles looked too painful to bother reading, but I found a couple that looked bearable (from the outset) and dove in.

But, reading them has made me ask:

What are these “Freshly Pressed” blogs? Who are they run by? Why are they on the front page? Why have some of them won awards?

I find them all a bit creepy.

First of all, there seems to be a house-style which many of them abide by. The most obvious feature of this is the (often bold font) question at the end (a lesson in patronisation), eg.:

“What do you do to make the world a better place? ”

“Isn’t it fabulous to move into a new place and start making it your own?! What do you think about my picks for comfy dorm living? What changed your life when you were living in a tiny room? Let me know!”

What do you think of 1930s fashion? Is it your favorite in fashion history, or do you like another time period better?

even, on a review:

“P.S. I realize that my criticisms of Kirkpatrick’s flawed objectivity might seem hypocritical – so please do let me know if some of my own pro-Facebook bias shines through in this review!”

*

Beyond this, many of them seem to be an excercise in mouthing platitudes and cliches. Which quickly becomes very disgusting – eg.:

“that doesn’t mean you throw out the baby with the bath water.”

“No one, no system, nothing is perfect”

“I don’t think we will ever be able to solve all of the world’s problems. I do try to be realistic. […] it’s about making the world a better place. ”

“We can’t solve all of the world’s problems, but I believe each one of us has the opportunity to enrich the lives of other”

(Alright, these were all on one blog… along with many more).

*

So, what’s the point of this complaining? Of course people write platitudinous shit, and of course the higher the plat-ratio, the higher the ratings (just look at the mass media, newspapers, &c!). And of course, the more cliche, the more morons will comment “Wow! You’ve inspired me! This is is so true! Thanks for a great post!” Or paraphrase the argument in yet more cliches, as though it was a lesson learned from their own experience, which happened to back-up the true experiences of the blogger.

And in fact, it’s not just blogs. Just witness, for example, the way the rhetoric of the Left is deployed as mere cultural capital (and thus turned into hot air and vacuity) by Adbusters (scum). Or by the Guardian, for that matter.

So, why am I complaining? Well, according to the mass of people I have daily contact with, because I’m:

“So negative”
“Overly cynical”
“Skeptical for the sake of skepticism”
“An old man”
“Argumentative”
&c.

Sometimes it seems the shit is spread so thick.

Do you sometimes think the shit is spread really thick and really reeks? What has recently made you feel like hurling abuse? Let me know!

Wit

~ by Wit on August 29, 2010.

2 Responses to “Freshly Pressed”

  1. I enjoy the irony of you doing what you despise, but to address your question yes I do feel that way. One of the things that gets me angry is the ways the local news never actually covers local issues, but instead is just some dumb shit your passively receive instead of interacting with.

    I liked those pics you took, they were pretty sweet, I am thinking of getting a camera so I could take pictures of stuff.

  2. Cheers Lake Swimmer. I was wondering whether to delete this post, but, I won’t since you put a nice comment on it.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the pics! :D I’m not too nifty with the camera, but the place was so cool it was hard not to take an interesting picture.

    A friend sent me a great link, when he saw those snaps:

    http://www.darkroastedblend.com/2010/06/battleship-island-other-ruined-urban.html

    There’s a whole city on this Japanese island that’s been abandoned… would love to go explore that place.

    Hope you’re well, best,
    Wit

Leave a Reply

 
